Athletics Kenya names team; Olympic champions miss out

Athletics Kenya names team; Olympic champions miss out

Athletics Kenya has named its team for Track, Field, and Marathon events for the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games after its three-day national Olympic trials at the Kasarani Stadium on Saturday, June 19, 2021.

Olympic champions Conseslus Kipruto and Vivian Cheruiyot will not be in Tokyo for next month’s event after not finishing in the top three of their races.

2016 Rio Olympics champion Kipruto dropped out in the final of the men’s 3,000 metres and was omitted from the team.

Leonard Bett, Abraham Kibiwott, and Benjamin Kigen will have the task of retaining the gold Kipruto won in Rio Games in Olympics record time.

Cheruiyot, the Olympics 5,000m champion, was dropped from the marathon team which has world record holder Brigid Kosgei, world champion Ruth Chepng’etich and Peres Jepchirchir.

World marathon record holder Eliud Kipchoge, Amos Kipruto, and Lawrence Cherono will form the men’s marathon team. Kipchoge is the defending Olympics marathon champion.

World 1,500m champion Timothy Cheruiyot, who finished fourth in the trials, has been left out of the team.

Simotwo clocked 3:33.02 seconds to win, beating Kamar Etiyang to second place in 3:33.12 as the two athletes claimed the first two automatic places.

Abel Kipsang settled for third in 3:34.36 as Cheruiyot came in fourth in 3:34.62.

Geoffrey Kamworor, winner of the trials at Kasarani, Rodgers Kwemoi and Weldon Kipkurui are the country’s representatives in the men’s 10,000m, while Hellen Obiri, Irene Cheptai, and Sheila Chelangat will fly Kenya’s flag in the women’s race.

See full team below: